When you put your vendor on a pedestal it is time for a reality check

I am working on a project now with a vendor in China that I have known for about four years. I met this vendor at the Canton Fair and I have run a few sourcing projects by them over the last few years. They have always proven very reliable in terms of making sure they understand my clients’ product designs and getting me quotes and/or samples in a very timely fashion. And this project has been no different. However recently I sent them an email asking them to send in samples and it was about ten days before I heard anything back from them. I called and left a message as well. But to no avail. When they finally did get back to me there was no apology or explanation for the delay. They may simply have been busy with another order or perhaps they were preparing for the Canton Fair. Fortunately it was only a sample order but, boy, was it frustrating for both me and my client. At one point I was even questioning myself about how well I knew this vendor and I was preparing to reach out to alternative vendors. The lesson here is never to take anything for granted when you source in China. That seemingly trustworthy vendor you have known and done business with for the last few years may suddenly turn out to be completely unreliable. I have seen it happen many times before and it could easily have happened this time as well, had the vendor decided they were tired of working on projects with me that as yet had not resulted in any sizeable orders for them. So always have backups no matter how well things are going and when you start to put your vendor on a pedestal it is time to give yourself a reality check. I have written on this before but it bears remembering. Even I, who have doing business in China for 25 years, have to remember this sometimes.

IMG_1525

Leave a Reply

