In China nowadays its the foreigners who are poor

I saw an interesting article online the other day in which it was said that Chinese consumers now regard Louis Vuitton as a pedestrian brand. In one way it did not surprise me, for there are a lot of Chinese nowadays with a lot of money. Most of my old colleagues at the Shanghai Textile company where I worked as Deputy GM 20 years ago, now have more money than I could dream of. One of those colleagues bought a home in Toronto several years back and paid 1 million dollars in cash. Another colleague has two villas in Shanghai each valued at over 2 million dollars. But when I read the article about Louis Vuitton bags in China I thought back to a project I had a few years ago helping a New Jersey company source leather handbags in China. The guy who hired me, Neal, had seen the bags when he was at the Canton Show but had a hard time following up with the vendor. Her email did not work, the phone number he had for her did not work, in other words the same old frustrating exercise trying to get in touch with a vendor in China. But Neal really wanted these bags so he asked me if I could help him.    I finally was able to get ahold of the vendor and requested a price list. What she sent me was a list with many bags whose FOB China cost was over $1000.00. I couldn’t believe it and when I expressed my surprise to Neal, he just kind of nonchalantly said “oh yeah, I forgot to tell you they are not cheap bags.”   Still for someone who lived in Shanghai in the early 1990s when an average salary for a college educated company employee was about $ 50.00 a month, and Adidas or Nike were prestigious brands that company employees saved months for, the thought of a $1000.00 bag was something to get used to. And judging by my reaction when I read the article about Louis Vuitton bags it is still something I am not used to.

But as my old friend and Shanghai resident for 25 years now, Andrew, said to me a few years back “It used to be that the foreigners had money and the Chinese were poor. Now the Chinese have money and the foreigners are poor.” Times have changed. And nowhere more so than in China.

IMG_7937

Leave a Reply

