The McDonalds of China sourcing

A start up apparel company was running a project by me this week. They have their designs and want to start sourcing in China. Needless to say, they want to order in very small QTYs and they wondered if sourcing on Alibaba was a good way to go. In general I do not advise sourcing on Alibaba because you just never know who you are dealing with and I have never met anyone who sourced on Alibaba who was not looking for a new vendor after six months. I like to think of Alibaba as the McDonalds of China procurement, in other words good for a quick order but not a healthy solution over the long-term.

The value of Alibaba as I see it is that it can give you a general idea about cost, MOQs and vendor location. I use it sometimes as just that, a research tool. If for example I want to find out where denim vendors are in numbers then I can easily do so with an advanced search on Alibaba.

And when giving it some more thought this week, as I prepared my reply to the startup that had emailed me, I realized that Alibaba is good for this: if you want to bring a design to fruition and get an idea of costs you can always find someone on Alibaba to do some samples for you. In other words, if your goal is simply to get started Alibaba is OK. And that is what I advised this company. I wrote to them as follows:

“….if you are just starting out and don’t have the budget and simply want to take a product from rough sketch to prototype then Alibaba is a good place I think.  You can at least get some samples made and perhaps a small production lot that will shed new light on your product and or design and give you a good idea of how much it will cost you to make your product. And you may be able to fulfill a small number of customer orders. But I would not go into any Alibaba sourcing project thinking you are going to find a vendor who is going to fulfill large orders with exacting QC standards for you. When you know that you really have a business, and are selling to specialty stores, if not big retailers, then that is when you really need to hit target costs, get product delivered on time and keep QC issues to a minimum. And that is when you need to look beyond Alibaba to more long-term partners.”

Here are some other posts on Alibaba

Sourcing on Alibaba

Alibaba as research tool

Leave a Reply

