Some valuable lessons from a China sourcing project

I just finished a project helping a start up apparel company find a supplier in China. This company is showing at a trade show this month and they just received the show samples which they were very pleased with. The vendor I set them up with, a vendor I met in China a few years ago, has been great to work with. They have been very responsive and worked effortlessly to get samples to my client in time for her show. It was close though. My client did not communicate her show sample needs to me immediately the result being that we had to grapple with month delay because of Chinese New Year and ran the risk of not getting the samples in time.

Reflecting on the order yesterday I told myself, yes there are valuable lessons to be learned on almost every order it seems. Accordingly here are the lessons on this order:

1.) As soon as you know your show schedule and your sample needs communicate those to vendors or agents or anyone you are working with on the order. In general you should give vendors three months to get samples ready for you. That may seem like a long time but remember vendors are busy people and have other customers as well.

2.) Check the calendar of the country where you are sourcing and look for major holidays which might mean hiccups in production or delivery. In China, for example, you do not want to schedule anything, samples or bulk production, around CNY or National Day. These are not garden variety national holidays but major holidays that usually result in 2-4 week work stoppages. In the West, or Japan, a holiday means a few days off. Not so in other parts of the world.

3.) Don’t stop when you have found a good vendor. The client I refer to here is a small business. The vendor I have set her up with is a big factory that can count Disney and the Gap among their customers. I would not normally set up a small business with a big factory but this vendor is very responsive, professional and can give my client a good cost based on economies of scale. I have also met them and have established some rapport with them over the years. This is not the first project I have run by them. Having said all that I have told my customer that in order to keep the vendor’s interest she will have to increase her orders over time and establish a good working relationship with the vendor. Hopefully the samples she just received will go a long way in helping her do that. But at the same time she should be looking for other vendors in the event she is not able to increase her orders to the satisfaction of her vendor.

And this is the model you follow when you source in China. Always.

IMG_8691

Leave a Reply

