Never be caught with just one supplier in China

What people are saying about Mulberry Fields

“I have already learned a great deal about China and your business through your website and blog posts. Very impressive.”  – Company in Toronto

 

BLOG POST

The other night a customer I have been helping on and off over the past year skyped me.  His skype text read as follows:

“My orders are getting bigger, just shipped 9000 units to (name of global retailer) , this is a lot of risk to be tied up with one supplier. If that supplier screws up or fails, I have lost both money and a supplier, costing me time and money I cannot afford.”

Of course I have been telling him this for about a year.  But it is hard for small businesses to think like big businesses sometimes. I then sent him a blog post I did a couple of years ago, all about the risk of having just one supplier.  Here is the link.

https://mulberryfields.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/don%e2%80%99t-put-all-your-eggs-in-one-chinese-basket/

Whenever you are sourcing in China you should have at least 2 or 3 vendors that you can contact in the event something happens with your primary vendor.  This will save you a lot of time and money. I would add that most vendors will know if you have only one supplier and that is when your costs really go up. Always have a couple vendors as back up and occasionally drop this fact in your discussions with your primary vendor ( in a non-threatening way of course.)

www.theeastasiaco.com

Leave a Reply

